ARMADA
S& T 72 Game Errata

The problems with Armada are a result of an in-
experienced developer working under insufficient
supervision. Our apologies for such prolific hind-
sight, and assurance that we will work ro eliminate
such confusion in future games. [Ed.]

The Walloon (Spanish) Barge units (0-20-10"s)
should have the two dark stripes indicating they
are Shallow-Draft oared units. Note: On some
countersheets, these units have the appropriate
stripes; on others, they are bereft of any stripes.

The Activation Values for Corunna and Santander
should be 10 (ten) rather than the values printed on
the map.

fsuggestion) The Activation hexes mentioned in
Case 5.1 should be clearly labelled with the first
letter of their nationality on the map (Example: A
(3" in hex 3016). The Activation Tracks should
have the hex number of the City in addition to the
City name written next to it. The above notations
have been found to greatly facilitate play during
post-publication testing.

The small sea Area comprised of hexes 0523
through 0526 and hexes 0623 through 0626 is in-
corporated into a larger sea Area which also in-
cludes hexes 0716 through 0724 and hexes 0813
through 0824, The prevailing winds remain
Southerly. On the Terrain Key, the values ina City
hex should be identified as (to the left of the slash)
the Victory Point Value, and (to the right of the
slash) the Activation Value.

[11.6] fcorrection) Delete the “Victuals
(transported land unit)"* row on this table. Addi-
tionally, the **Victuals (naval unit)"’ row should
read ‘‘Victuals (Fleet/ Armada)’” instead.

RULES

[2.1] (elarification) The sentence beginning on
the fifth line should read ‘‘The Spanish Player
controls the Spanish, including Italian, Walloon,
Burgundian, and German units.”

[3.1] faddition) Each city hex on the game-map
contains two numbers, separated by a slash; the
first number is the Victory Point Value (see Case
17.1) of the City, and the second is the Activation
Value (see Case 5.32). A city hex is any hex con-
taining a name and two numbers (as above). A
port hex is any coastal city hex containing a port
symbol (an anchor). A fortress hex is any city hex
containing the fortress symbol; a fortress port is
any port containing the fortress symbol.

[3.2] (addition) Units with a single dark stripe
across the lower portion of the unit counter are
Shallow-Draft Sailing naval units; units with two
dark stripes across the upper and lower portions of
their counters are Shallow-Draft Oared naval
units; and naval units without any dark stripes are
Deep-Draft Sailing naval units,

[4.2] fcorrection) The Players receive their se-
cond vear revenues at the end of the Joint Activa-
tion Inter-Phase of Game-Turn 9, not during the
Acquisition Phase.

[5.1] fcorrection) The second sentence of this
rules should read: The Activation Tracks are
divided into sections called slots, each of which
corresponds o a particular city, activation hex or
area, and each of which is divided into four
numbered boxes. (Exception: Non-port cities and
other activation hexes or areas only have one box.)

[5.25] (clarification) Eliminated Spanish units of
all nationalities (e.g., [talian, German) may be re-
activated, but eliminated Spanish A/ly units (e.g.,
Scottish Catholie, Irish Rebel) may not be.

[5.29] (clarification) Normally units are activated

in city hexes, However, units activated in the Pro-
testant or Catholic Netherlands, or in Germany,
may appear in any one of the hexes in the Protes-
tant or Catholic Netherlands, or Germany, as
listed in Cases 5.27 or 5.22, or 5.21 (respectively).
Additionally, units can be activated in specific
non-city hexes — see Case 5.21 and the Spanish
Activation Tracks.

[5.32] (correction) The total number of the Naval
Combat Strength Points on a city’s Activation
Track may not exceed the city’s Activation Value
(the second number in the city's hex). Exception:
see Case 5.54. Note: The *‘Combat Strength” of a
Walloon Invasion Barge is considered to be 4 for
Activation and De-Activation purposes only.

[5.53] (correction) The first sentence should
read: A Player may De-Activate naval units in any
Friendly or currently Friendly-occupied Enemy
port.

[5.54] fcorrection) If a Player owns too few ports
to comply with the restrictions of Case 5.53 above,
he may De-Activate naval units in excess of the Ac-
tivation Values of the ports. In this case, the
Player must distribute the excess De-Activated
units as evenly as possible among his ports,

[6.0] (eddition) Second Paragraph, Fourth Line
— place at end of sentence *“(see Case 6.5)"".

[6.11] (clarification) In other words, if the Player
begins a unit’s movement moving with the wind
and later changed the unit’s direction so that the
unit is moving against the wind, two rolls on the
Wind Effects Table are made: one on the ‘*“With”’
column and one on the “*Against” column. If a
unit began moving against the wind, however, and
changed direction to move with the wind, only one
roll — on the “*Against’’ column — would be
made on the Wind Effects Table.

[6.16) (addition) There are two different sections
of the Wind Effects Table; one section is to be used
during the April through September Game-Turns,
and the other during the October and Winter
Game-Turns (see Case 6.8, Wind Effects Table).

[6.2] fcorrection) The fourth line should read
. .coastal hex and may move into any adfacent
coastal hex(es). A naval unit utilizing coastal
movement must move entirely through coastal
hexes."’

[6.3] (clarification) In other words, the *‘cost™ in
Transport Points to carry a land unit over water is
equal to the land unit’s Combat Strength.

[6.33] (change) The total Combat Strength of the
land units transported by a stack of naval units
may never exceed the total Transport Capacity of
the naval units. Should the Transport Capacity of
the transporting stack be reduced below the total
necessary to carry the land units (either through
combat or Wind attrition), land units must be
removed (or suffer step losses) until the total land
Combat Strength is less than or equal to the new
Transport Capacity.

[6.5] NAVAL INTERCEPTION  (Replaces
original Case) Whenever a naval unit is moved to
within fwo hexes of an Enemy naval unit, the Non-
Phasing Player may artempt to Spot the moving
naval unit with one of his own units. The Non-
Phasing Player rolls the die: if herollsa 1 or 2, he
has failed to Spot the moving unit; if he rolls a 3
through 6, he has Spotted the moving unit. If a
naval unit Spots a moving unit, the Non-Phasing
Player may elect to Intercept the moving unit.

[6.51] A Non-Phasing Player may only make one
attempt to Spot a moving Enemy unit per hex the
unit moves.

[6.52] A unit remains Spotted only as long as it re-
mains in the hex in which it was Spotted.

[6.53] At any point in the Movement Phase, the

Non-Phasing Player may elect to Intercept a Spot-
ted Enemy naval unit, When a Player chooses to
Intercept an Enemy unit, he must move all Friend-
ly units within two hexes of the Spotted unit to a
single hex adjacent to the Enemy unit.

[6.54] Only one Interception may be made per
Enemy Movement Phase by any given unit or
stack.

[6.55] Units Intercepting a moving unit must at-
tack that unit during the Phasing Player’s Combat
Phase (Exception: Cases 6.57 and 6.58). The Non-
Phasing Player is considered the attacking Player
for this combat.

[6.56] An Intercepted unit must immediately
cease movement in the hex in which it is In-
tercepted.

[6.57] Deep Draft units without Munitions may
not attack during Interception. They may be in-
volved in an Interception with other units that do
not Intercept an Enemy unit.

[6.58] Shallow Draft units may nof attack during
Interception. They may be involved in an Intercep-
tion with other units that do Intercept an Enemy
unit,

[7.0] PROCEDURE: (correction) The seventh
senitence should read: He rolls a die to determine
whether he Disengages (see Case 7.4); if he suc-
cessfully Disengages, the combat ends. ((Rest of
rule as printed)). faddition) A given stack of units
may only be attacked from one adjacent hex. If a
defending stack is adjacent to 2 or more stacks of
Enemy units, only one of the Enemy stacks may
attack.

[7.11] {clarification) Change third sentence to
read ‘. . .unit in combat: oared ships and invasion
barges never receive a Wind Bonus.”’

[7.12] (clarification) This can occur only when
the two stacks involved in the combat are in dif-
ferent wind areas.

[7.3] LIMITATIONS ON NAVAL COMBAT
(Replace existing Case)

[7.31] When Deep-Draft and Shallow-Draft units
are stacked in the same hex, only the Deep-Draft
units may be attacked. Once all Deep-Draft naval
units are eliminated, the Enemy Player may attack
the remaining Shallow-Draft units. However, if
there are any excess Step Losses after the last
Deep-Draft naval unit is eliminated, the combat
result is fulfilled by eliminating Shallow-Draft
Steps.

[7.32] Shallow- and Deep-Draft units in the same
hex must attack Enemy units in an adjacent hex
separately, Exception: see Case 10.4.

[7.33], [7.34] and [7.35] remain as printed.

[7.4] feddition) Allunitsinastack Disengageasa
stack, regardless of which units are being attacked
(see Case 7.31).

[7.43] (change) A stack of Spanish naval units
containing at least one Deep-Draft naval unit
Disengages only on aroll of 5 or 6.

[7.44] (change) Any stack of English naval units
disengages onaroll of 4 through 6.

[7.51] (clarification) Although a Friendly naval
unit may enter an Enemy port which is not oc-
cupied by Enemy naval units, an Enemy port is
captured only if occupied by Friendly land units.

[7.85] (correction) Naval units may never capture
acity; only land units may capture cities.

[8.14] fchange) Dutch land units may not move
or attack out of the Netherlands; they may operate
freely within the Protestant and Catholic Nether-
lands.

[8.15] (clarification) German units may,
however, attack or move into the Protestant
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Netherlands from the Catholic Netherlands.

[8.16] (change) ((Delete the rule as written)).
Scottish units (Protestant and Catholic) may only
move and attack within Scotland and England.

[8.19] (addition) Land units which disembark
from naval units may move and engage in combat
in the Game-Turn in which they disembark.

[9.0) GENERAL RULE (cfarification) A stack
of defending units may only be attacked from one
adjacent hex. If a defending stack is adjacent to
two or more Enemy stacks only one of the Enemy
stacks may attack the defending stack.

PROCEDURE faddition) (becomes second to last
sentence): As a result of combat, units may be
forced to take Step Losses, See Case 3.2,

[9.12] (addition) Land units on the Catholic or
Protestant Netherlands Activation Track are
destroyed only if all of the hexes listed in Cases
5.22 or 5.27 (respectively) are occupied by Enemy
land units. Units on the Lorraine Activation Track
are destroyed only if hex 2918 is occupied by
Enemy units.

[10.0] GENERAL RULE (change} Whena stack
of land units, or a stack of naval units in a fortess
port hex (only) is attacked by Enemy units, the
owning Player of the attacked unit(s) may, instead
of receiving the attack, elect to have his units enter
siege instead. The attacking units are moved into
the defending units’ hex, and the combat is over —
neither side suffers any losses. During subsequent
Combat Phases, either Player may have his units
engage the other’s units in combat (see Case 10.3).

[10.13] fchange) Units under siege in a port or a
fortress port hex which are besieged exclusively by
land units, or exclusively by naval units, may
undergo siege indefinitely.

[10.14] (addition) The besieging Plaver may
bring naval units into a non-fortress port only if
there are no Activated Enemy naval units in the
port. The Besieged units in the non-fortress port
are eliminated at the end of the Friendly Land
Combat Phase two Game-Turns after the Besieg-
ing naval units entered the hex. Thus units in a port
hex besieged by both land and naval units do not
undergo siege indefinitely.

[10.15] (correction) The Besieging Player may
bring naval units into a fortress port (only) despite
the presence of Enemy naval units. ((rest of rule as
printed)).

[10.23] faddition) Besieging naval units in a for-
tress port hex under siege do not have their Com-
bat Strength doubled. Besieging naval units in a
non-fortress port hex do not have their Combat
Strength halved. This is an exception to Case 7.52.

[10.33] fclarification) Units under Siege may be
attacked by the Besieging Player, They may not
refuse combat (as they did originally by entering
Siege) by undergoing Siege again.

[10.4] faddition) SPECIAL SIEGE COMBAT
RULES

[10.41] Relieving units are not considered to be
stacked with the same Player’s units under Siege,
even though they must be in the same hex.

[10.42] At the end of any Turn (during the Main-
tenance Phase) that there remains a relieving,
besieging and besieged unit or units in the same
hex, the Player owning the besieging unit(s) must
retreat the besieging unit(s) out of the hex im-
mediately. The siege is broken and the besieging
units are free to either initiate siege once again or
do combat in the next appropriate Phase,

[10.5] EFFECTS OF SIEGES

[10.51] Units under siege may be Activated or De-
Activated. However, units under construction
may be advanced along their respective Activation

Tracks while their hex is under siege.

[10.52] Land units under siege may not embark
upon naval units to escape siege.

[10.53] If the besieging Player wishes 1o break off
the siege for any reason other than that mentioned
in Case 10.42, he must retreat the (previously)
besieging units into the hex from which he initiated
the siege.

[11.0] f(correction) There is no Financial Phase,
When the Financial Phase is mentioned, read
““Joint Activation Phase”. GENERAL RULE
faddition) The English and Spanish Treasury
Tracks are printed on the game-map. The Players

use these and the Treasury Markers (see Case 3.22) -

to keep track of the number of Ducats contained in
their respective Treasuries,

[11.1] fcorrection) Delete the second sentence.

[11.11] fommission) Add aflter the last sentence:
“Exception: 1f the Spanish Treasure Fleet is
eliminated by Wind Effects, the English Player
does not receive the 500 ducat award.” (correc-
tion) Fourth line should read *‘Upon destroying
the Spanish Treasure Fleet in either 1587 or
1588..."

[11.13] faddition) The Spanish Treasure Fleet is
placed on any hex on the Western mapedge during
the Joint Activation Inter-Phase. 1t may be moved
normally in the succeeding Spanish Naval Move-
ment Phase, unless eliminated by English attack,

[11.14] faddition) The Spanish Treasure Fleet
enters in either the June, July or August Turn of
1587,

[11.24] fconvenience) The English Player pays
maintenance costs for English units on/y (all deep
red units). The Spanish Player pays maintenance
costs for Spanish, German, Walloon, Burgundian
and Ttalian units only (all green/brown and deep
yellow units).

[11.3] (change) Change “‘De-Activate '4 of all
Friendly land units’’ to *‘remove ¥ of all Friendly
land units from the game-map.”’ (elarification) 1f
a Player cannot De-Activate all his naval unitsina
home port because the Activation Value of the
port is not large enough 1o accomodate the naval
units as many naval units are De-Activated as
possible, and the remainder are eliminated,

[12.0] (correction) All references to Cases 12.13
and 12.14 should be to Cases 12,11 and 12,12 —
the sections are misnumbered.

[12.11] fchange) Delete the section of the rule
after the comma.

[12.12] {correction) Replace “‘and if all units in-
volved possess the same number of Victual and
Munition Points" with ‘‘the combined fleet will
have as many Victual and Munition Points as the
fleet with the lesser number of such Points.”

[12.22] fcorrection) Delete this rule. (12.23 now
becomes 12.22).

[13.2] (change) Delete Cases 13.21, 13.22, 13.23,
and 13.25, Case 13.24 becomes Case 13.21, and
add:

[13.22] faddition) If a Fleet/Armada containing
Deep-Draft naval units in an all-sea hex must be
Victualed, one Victual Point must be expended by
the Fleet/Armada. (clarification) The first line
should read ‘A Deep-Draft naval unit in any
coastal hex. .. "

[13.26] (addition) When De-Activating a unit,
any Victual Points associated with that unit are
forfeit.

[13.34] faddition) When De-Activating a unit,
any Munitions Points associated with that unit are
forfeit.

[15.31] faddition) Exception: The Spanish Player
may construct naval units at the ports of Malaga,
Cartegena, Valencia and Barcelona.

[15.33] (addition) Players may repair units, Ac-
tivate land units, advance units along the Activa-
tion Track and purchase Victual and Munition
Points during Winter Turns.
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CASSINO
S&T 71 Game Errata

The following errata apply to Cassino as published
in S&T 71. Note that all items have been incor-
porated into the boxed edition published subse-
quently, and thus these errata does not pertain 1o
that edition.

RULES

[5.32] (clarification) Treat any **7"" or 8" results
as “'6."’

[5.42] fclarification) An observation post may be
“carried" by one unit per turn, only,

[5.52] (clarification) On collateral damage die
rolls, any parentheses per se are ignored, but not
the results therein,

[6.2] fclarification) Stacking restrictions (see Sec-
tion 9.0) must be observed at all times during the
Movement Phase.

[8.23] (clarification) A unit may be engaged by
opportunity fire in the hex it began in.

[11.2] (clarification) Only full-strength (i.e., two-
step) platoons may be detached.

[12.1] (clarification) No unit may be close
assaulted (i.e., defend against a close assault) more
than once per Game-Turn.

[14.0] GENERAL RULE (eorrection) Pinned
units cannol move further nor may they attack un-
til unpinned (Exceptions: Cases 14.12, 14.22),

[14.2] fclarification) Pinned units may be
retreated. No unit may ever be worth less then
“one’ on attack or defense.

[16.2] fclarification) Tanks may close assault into
any adjacent hex,

[17.0] felarification) Reinforcements are always
considered in supply for purposes of movement in
their Game-Turn of arrival.

CHARTS

[6.4] Terrain Effects Chart (correction) River
hexes are prohibited except at bridges (there are no
River hexsides); close assault from or into a River
hex is prohibited.

[12.8] Close Assault Combat Results Table feor-
rections) The ‘4" result on the 2-1 column and the
3" result on the 4-1 column should both read
“rTel

[12.8] Explanation of Combat Results felarifica-
tions) 1,2,3 = The indicated number of steps
(total) must be lost by the affected units. Opposing
player conducts retreats; owning player distributes
losses.,



